HomeContact

 Site français Visitez mes pages en Français

     

    Download DVdate

    to get insight in avi videos

    probably the best utility in the world to manage all DV videos


Help pages about DVdate: 

Install and launch
Information
Menu Display
Menu Video
Menu Rename
Menu Convert
Menu Inlay
Menu Scenes
Edit Scenes
Settings
Scripts



my software:

DVdate
CaptureFlux
ImageGrab
CassetteDV
Filmerit
GRFShow
ImagePrinz
BurnFX

This page is better viewed in 1024x768.

 

Last update

at Saturday, December 13, 2008

 


 

Download

version 7.1.1

released at Saturday, December 13, 2008

size 860 Kb

 

When downloading for free this software, you acknowledge that you will use it at your own risk, without any warranty from Paul Glagla. It works for me, it should work for you, but perhaps not, because I cannot test my programs on all different systems available.

 

This software is delivered for personal use of the video hobbyist only. Any use by a company, an administration or during professional activities is prohibited. If you need to use it for such activities, please ask me for a licensed version. To learn how to get a licensed version, click below.

 

 

  

    What is DVdate?

    DVdate is a powerful utility for processing AVI files in general, and specially AVI DV files. It features many useful functions, easy and fast to apply even to a great number of avi files at once. For example:

      check01_green.gif convert a DV file from type 1 to type 2 (and reciprocally): It is useful when importing files into some video editing software that accept only videos of type 2, like Pinnacle's Studio. DVdate may recognize even some strange DV types, like those produced by Movie Edit Pro and convert them to regular DV types.

      check01_green.gif convert a non DV file  into a DV file (Pal or NTSC): it is useful when editing a project with DV files, to import easily a video clip, that has been compressed with anything else than DV, like DivX or Mjpeg.

      check01_green.gif convert a DV file from Pal to NTSC or reciprocally: it is useful to make a DVD in NTSC format with a camcorder in DV Pal.

      check01_green.gif embed ("Inlay" or should I say "burn"? ) datecode or timecode into the frames of a DV file: it is useful to display the date and time of capture on the screen, like the analog camcorders used to do. This function is highly personalizable, with nice features (change font, position, schedule to display ay each scene change, display the datecode on two lines, adjust the alignment, add a border...

      check01_green.gif create a subtitle file with the datecodes at the right times: very useful to display the datecode  when playing a video, without burning it permanently into the video frames.

      check01_green.gif export a file containing the list of scenes from a DV video to some popular formats: it can be a simple text file, or a Excel Worksheet, but also a Word doc, and even a document for OpenOffice.org (Calc or Writer) it's useful to catalog DV tapes, or to make a database of all scenes. It's then personalizable with Microsoft Office or OpenOffice.org

      check01_green.gif fix the framerate of an avi file : it may fix some out of sync issues, specially when an analog capture board did not set the correct framerate

      check01_green.gif rename avi files by adding their datecode or timecode: it's useful when sorting video clips and archiving them.

      check01_green.gif many other features are available: extract audio to WAV, fix a time difference, change the FourCC of the codec, split a DV file into individual scene files...

    DVdate features a multimedia player which can read the video (including in full screen) and browse easily through the video with CTRL+ array keys, and even browse from scene to scene with the function keys F8 and F9. It displays in real time the datecode and timecode of the frame being played. DVdate displays also complete information about the AVI file. Like the utility Gspot, it indicates the codec, the image size, the number of frames per second, the duration of the video etc.... When dealing with DV files, it adds the type 1 or 2 and the TV standard Pal or NTSC or even the aspect ratio 4x3 or 16x9. It features also a function to display the RIFF header of an avi file, like riffwalk.exe from Microsoft used to do.

    DVdate can load a great number of avi files into its "playlist", and process them individually or altogether. It displays automatically the video of each selected file. It may open the selected files in a third-party application with a single key stroke. With one keyboard hit (CTRL+F7) it may even load all avi files present on all your hard drives. Try it, you may be surprised by the result.

     

    DVdate  comes with a script language, which can automate many functions, and is useful in batch processing, and command-line mode.

     

    DVdate features a Scenes Editor, and can create (even for non DV files, for instance DivX) a scn file containing data about the scenes (start, end, caption, thumbnail...). This enables the amazing function of browsing from scene to scene in some of my software, and is compatible with Studio from  Pinnacle.

back to topanigray07_up.gif


    Minimum Requirements for DVdate

     

    DVdate has been tested under Windows XP  SP1 and SP2 and Windows Vista. It needs directX 9.0 or better. To play videos in its integrated multimedia player, the corresponding directshow filters (sometimes called codecs) must be installed on your system. If they are not, the video will not play but other commands may still work.

     

    It is interesting to install also my software ImageGrab on your system. Thus DVdate can call ImageGrab with a single key stroke on F2 and load automatically the selected file in it.

back to topanigray07_up.gif


    Help pages about DVdate

 

    Using DVdate is very simple and straight forward. Just remember to type F10 if you want to change some settings, and to type F11 to show the list of all commands with their shortcuts. Move the mouse above buttons to show hints. But if you want to use some advanced features, it is recommended to read the help pages. Following pages are available in English:

     

    If you used DVdate with a version prior to 7.x.x, and when theses pages will be updated, you should first of all have a look at the pages Menu Scenes, Edit Scenes, Scripts. The other help pages will seem familiar to you.

If you have found a bug, please send me an e-mail. I must say that I can not answer to most of e-mails. They are too numerous. But I read them all, and I often implement new improvements in the next versions, thanks to remarks of the users.

back to topanigray07_up.gif


 

    What's new in versions 7.0. x published in English since 2008, April the 14th.

     

  • The program is now compatible with Unicode characters, and should work with some Asian languages or with Cyrillic characters for instance.
  • The window of the program is no more constraint. One can adjust the size, maximize it, one can display or hide the list of files (and position it at the right or at the left). More buttons are available in the toolbar, that can also be displayed or hidden, and even dragged out of the main window.
  • A command to convert DV videos from 4x3 to 16x9 (widescreen) and reciprocally has been added.
  • A list of all commands with shortcuts and token for scripts is available with F11
  • The video play gives a better experience: it is no more deformed when played in full screen. And the video is deinterlaced, at least if your system is powerful. NB on some less powerful systems, just keep this function off, if the display of video is not smooth enough.
  • You may drag and drop files FROM DVdate to other applications.
  • The functions like fix a time difference, change the codec, change the video frequency are easier to use, with a dialog before execution
  • When you rename, embed text in the video, or put captions in the scenes, you may use simple codes to represent data from the video: for example %D for the datecode, %T for the timecode, or %U for the duration or %C for the codec...So you may highly personalize the text .
  • The list of scenes may be exported (from a scn file that exits or that you can create and edit with DVdate, even for non DV videos ) to Word, Excel, OpenOffice.org Writer or Calc or a txt file. For Word and OpenOffice.org Writer, the exported document contains one thumbnail image for each scene.
  • One can create a scn file not only by content or by datecode, but also by separating scenes in fixed intervals.
  • Making DVdate portable ( that is to say, let it save its preferences to a ini file instead of saving them in the registry) is now very simple with one click in the Settings.
  • When quitting DVdate,  if the preferences are not set to be automatically saved, a dialog asks to confirm quitting without saving the preferences.
  • With a right click on the video being played, the current image is copied to the clipboard, and can be pasted to other application
  • Videos can now also be sorted by duration. A command in the menu Files displays the total duration of all listed or selected videos.
  • A powerful editor for embedding text and datecode in the video ("inlay") is featured. All changes are applied in real time and can be assessed.
  •  

    What's new in versions 7.1. x published in English since 2008, December 13th.

     

  • A commande is available to overwrite an existing datecode in a DV video, or to create one in a DV video that had none. This datecode starts at a given date and time, then increases regurlarly when the video advances
  • The RIFF header is improved and completed.

 

 back to topanigray07_up.gif


    About datecode and timecode

    When dealing with DV files, it is often useful to retrieve the date and time of the video capture. This data is written by camcorders onto the recorded frames, and remains on them when the video is copied, cut, transferred, saved, as long as it is not recompressed. Some applications may read these datecodes, for example the famous Scenalyser, - and there exist some others like indicated by Stefan. DVdate is one of the freeware programs that manage to do it, and to take full advantage of it.

    The same situation happens for timecode, a data indicating the position of a frame in the DV tape in hours-minutes-seconds-number of frames, which is also written by many camcorders onto each frame of the DV tape. This information remains when the video is transferred into the computer, as long as the file is not recompressed. DVdate can retrieve it, and tell you where the video file was first recorded on the DV tape.

    A great feature of DVdate is the ability to browse a DV file and display instantly in real time  the datecode and timecode of the current frame. I don't know any software, even a commercial one, that offers this nice possibility. DVdate may also create a new avi-file with datecode or timecode burnt into each frame.

back to topanigray07_up.gif

 

 

 

pink05_next.gif Install and launch DVdate

Visit my English pages

 

    Télécharger DVdate
    pour voir ce qu'une vidéo avi a dans le ventre,
    et notamment récupérer la date de tournage d'un clip DV  

     

 

Télécharger (852 Ko):

Version 7.2.1

publiée le mercredi 18 mai 2016

    En téléchargeant gratuitement ce logiciel, vous acceptez de l'utiliser à vos seuls risques et périls. Il semble bien fonctionner chez moi, donc il est vraisemblable qu'il fonctionne aussi chez vous, mais je ne l'ai pas testé partout, et je ne le garantis pas.

    Ce logiciel est réservé pour un usage personnel et familial. Tout usage professionnel, ou commercial, ou même administratif est interdit. Si vous avez besoin d'un tel usage, il vous faut une version sous licence. Pour savoir comment recevoir une version sous licence, cliquez ci-dessous:

     

 

 Visitez aussi:


 

 Les pages d'Aide sur DVdate:


Mes logiciels à télécharger:


Mes tutoriels sur la vidéo:

 

Dernière Mise à Jour  de cette page
le mercredi 18 mai 2016

 


 

    Qu'est-ce que DVdate?

     

    DVdate est un utilitaire pour traiter les fichiers AVI en général, et les fichiers au format avi DV tout particulièrement. Les points forts qui font son succès dans le monde entier sont la présence de fonctions très faciles et très rapides à appliquer, y compris à un grand nombre de fichiers AVI simultanément, par exemple:

     

      check01_green.gif convertir un fichier DV de type 1 en type 2 (ou réciproquement): c'est utile pour importer un fichier dans certains logiciels d'édition vidéo qui n'acceptent que des vidéos de type 2, par exemple Studio de Pinnacle. DVdate sait même reconnaître certains types étranges de DV, notamment ceux produits par Movie Edit pro et les convertir en DV standard.

       

      check01_green.gif convertir un fichier non DV en un fichier DV (Pal ou NTSC): c'est utile quand on fait un montage en DV pour introduire facilement un clip vidéo qui était comprimé en autre chose, par exemple DivX ou encore Mjpeg.

       

      check01_green.gif convertir un fichier DV de Pal en NTSC ou réciproquement: c'est utile pour faire un DVD en NTSC à partir d'un camescope en DV Pal. Il sait aussi convertir de 4x3 en 16x9 et réciproquement.

       

      check01_green.gif incruster le datecode dans les images d'une vidéo DV: c'est utile pour afficher la date de capture dans un coin de l'image, comme le faisaient les camescopes analogiques. Mais on peut aussi faire des incrustations très sophistiquées avec timecode, datecode et du texte personnalisé.

       

      check01_green.gif créer un fichier de sous-titres .srt contenant les incrustations: au lieu d'incruster de manière permanente le datecode, on peut créer automatiquement un fichier .srt contenant les mêmes informations comme sous-titres, et ensuite les activer lorsqu'on lit la vidéo dans la plupart des lecteurs multimedia. Cela peut aussi servir à créer des sous-titres pour un DVD.

       

      check01_green.gif exporter un fichier comprenant la liste des scènes d'une vidéo DV: ce fichier peut être soit un fichier texte de Windows, soit un fichier Word ou Excel, soit un fichier OpenOffice.org (Writer ou Calc). C'est très utile pour se faire un catalogue de ses cassettes DV, voire même une base de données.

       

      check01_green.gif corriger la fréquence vidéo d'un fichier avi (framerate): c'est utile pour corriger certains problèmes de synchronisation entre son et audio, quand une carte analogique a créé une vidéo avec une fréquence erronée.

       

      check01_green.gif renommer des fichiers avi DV en intégrant à leur nom le datecode ou le timecode: c'est utile pour classer des clips vidéos selon leur date de tournage par exemple.

       

      check01_green.gif DVdate sait faire beaucoup d'autres choses: par exemple extraire l'audio en un fichier Wav, corriger un codec, ajuster le datecode d'un décalage horaire, découper un fichier DV en autant de clips que de scènes, etc...

       

    DVdate comprend un lecteur multimedia qui permet de lire la vidéo (y compris en plein écran) et d'y naviguer aisément à l'image près avec les touches CTRL+ flèches du clavier, le cas échéant d'y naviguer de scène en scène (touches de fonction F8 ou F9). Il affiche en temps réel le datecode et le timecode de l'image en train d'être lue. DVdate affiche aussi des informations très complètes sur les propriétés du fichier AVI. A la manière de l'utilitaire Gspot, il fournit les codecs, la taille d'images, le nombre d'images par secondes, la durée etc..., mais lorsqu'il s'agit de fichiers au format DV, il ajoute le type 1 ou 2 et le standard Pal ou NTSC, ou même le ratio 4x3 ou 16x9. Il comprend aussi une fonction pour afficher l'en-tête RIFF du fichier avi, à la manière du programme riffwalk.exe de Microsoft, désormais presque introuvable.

    DVDate permet de charger très facilement un grand nombre de fichiers avi dans sa "playlist", pour les traiter ensemble ou individuellement, en les ayant en quelque sorte tous sous la main. Il peut les charger dans l'application multimedia de votre choix par une simple pression sur une touche F3 ou F4. Il affiche automatiquement la vidéo correspondante quand on en sélectionne un. Il permet même d'une seule touche (CTRL+F7) de charger tous les fichiers avi présents sur tous les diques durs. Essayez, vous serez surpris du résultat.

    DVdate comprend un langage de scripts qui permet d'automatiser un grand nombre de fonctions.

    DVdate comprend aussi un éditeur de scènes, qui permet (même pour des fichiers non DV, par exemple des divx) de créer un fichier scn associé, contenant le début et la fin de chaque scène, éventuellement avec un titre et une imagette, ce qui facilite la navigation dans les logiciels qui reconnaissent ces fichiers, notamment DVdate, ImageGrab et bien sûr Studio de Pinnacle.

    retour au haut de la pageanigray07_up.gif


 

    Configuration nécessaire

 

    DVdate a été testé sous Windows XP SP1 et SP2 et Windows Vista. Il nécessite directX en version 9.0 ou mieux. Pour faire marcher le lecteur multimedia inclus dans DVdate, les filtres de directshow (parfois encore appelés codecs) nécessaires au fichier avi choisi doivent être correctement installés sur votre système.

     

    Il est particulièrement intéressant d'avoir aussi ImageGrab sur votre système. Dans ce cas, DVdate sait l'appeler d'un simple appui sur F2 avec la vidéo courante sélectionnée dedans.

    retour au haut de la pageanigray07_up.gif


    Les pages d'aide sur DVdate:

 

    La prise en mains de DVdate est en principe très simple et intuitive. Pensez à taper F10 pour modifier les préférences et tapez F11 pour voir la liste des commandes et raccourcis clavier. Passez la souris sur les boutons pour voir apparaître des indications d'aide. Pour comprendre comment utiliser les fonctions avancées de DVdate, il est cependant recommandé de parcourir les pages d'aide. Les pages d'aide suivantes sont disponibles:

  Si vous avez utilisé DVdate 6.x.x, avant la mise à jour de ces pages d'aide pour la version 7.0.x, alors regardez en priorité les changements intervenus dans le Menu Scènes, l'Editeur de scènes, et les scripts. Les autres fonctions ne devraient pas vous poser de difficultés majeures.

retour au haut de la pageanigray07_up.gif


    Principales nouveautés des versions 7.0.x publiées depuis le 23 mars 2008 par rapport aux versions 6.x.x

     

  • Le programme est maintenant compatible avec les caractères Unicode, ce qui devrait permettre de fonctionner avec des langages asiatiques ou des alphabets cyrilliques.
  • Le programme n'est plus enfermé dans une fenêtre de taille donnée. On peut ajuster la taille, même en plein écran, on peut afficher ou non la liste des fichiers (et la basculer entre droite et gauche). Davantage de boutons figurent sur les barres d'outils, qui elles-mêmes peuvent être affichées ou masquées, et d'ailleurs détachées de la barre par glissement.
  • La conversion de DV 4x3 en DV 16x9 a été ajoutée.
  • Une table de toutes les commandes avec leurs raccourcis et mots-clés de script est accessible par F11
  • La vidéo en train d'être jouée peut être désentrelacée, ce qui permet d'avoir une très bonne qualité si votre système est performant. NB cette fonction doit être débrayée sur les sytèmes moins puissants, sinon l'image peut être saccadée.
  • On peut faire glisser un ou plusieurs fichiers depuis la liste de DVdate vers une autre application.
  • Les fonctions comme décalage horaire, corriger le codec, corriger la fréquence vidéo sont plus faciles à utiliser, car un dialogue s'établit avant de les lancer
  • On peut renommer, incruster du texte dans la vidéo, ou mettre des titres et sous-titres dans les scènes, en utilisant des codes simples pour représenter des données issues de la vidéo: par exemple %D pour le datecode, %T pour le timecode, mais aussi %U pour la durée ou %C pour le codec...Cela permet une personnalisation très poussée.
  • On peut exporter la liste des scènes (depuis un fichier scn que l'on peut aussi créer et éditer avec DVdate, y compris pour des vidéos non DV) vers Word, Excel, OpenOffice.org Writer ou Calc et un fichier txt. Pour Word et OpenOffice.org Writer, cette exportation contient l'imagette de chaque scène, ce qui en fait une planche-résumé de votre vidéo tout à fait intéressante (et personnalisable ensuite avec Microsoft Office ou OpenOffice).
  • On peut créer un fichier scn non seulement en fonction du datecode ou du contenu de la vidéo, mais aussi par découpage en intervalles réguliers.
  • La transformation de DVdate en un fichier portable (qui sauve ses préférences dans un fichier ini au lieu de les sauver dans le registre) est maintenant très simple, d'un clic dans les options.
  • Quand on quitte DVdate, si on n'a pas demandé une sauvegarde des préférences soit dans le registre soit dans un fichier ini, alors un panneau demande de confirmer la perte des préférences.
  • Par un clic droit sur la vidéo en train d'être jouée, on peut copier l'image en train de passer vers le presse-papiers, pour la coller ensuite dans une autre application.
  • Les vidéos peuvent être triées selon leur durée. Une commande dans le menu Fichiers permet d'afficher la durée totale de toutes les vidéos listées ou sélectionnées dans la liste.
  • Un éditeur très puissant pour l'incrustation a été intégré. Il permet de voir directement en temps réel les transformations produites par un changement.

 

     Principales nouveautés des versions 7.1.x et 7.2.x publiées depuis le 13 décembre 2008 par rapport aux versions 7.0.x

     

  • Une commande permet maintenant d'introduire un datecode dans une video qui en était dépourvue, ou d'écraser un datecode existant. Ce datecode part d'une date de début, puis s'incrémente de façon normale avec l'avancement de la vidéo
  • La présentation  de l'en-tête RIFF est améliorée et complétée.
  • L'interface est plus propre sous Windows 7 et Windows 10

 

retour au haut de la pageanigray07_up.gif


  

    Rappel sur les datecode et timecode:

 

    Quand on travaille avec des clips au format DV, on a souvent besoin ou envie de retrouver la date du tournage. Celle-ci est inscrite en même temps que l'heure par les camescopes sur les frames enregistrées, et se transporte avec les frames quand on les copie, coupe, enregistre etc... sur l'ordinateur, tant qu'on ne les recompresse pas. Si certains programmes savent utiliser ces datecodes, par exemple le fameux Scenalyser, - il y en a d'autres comme indiqué par Stefan - les références de ces datecodes et la façon de les récupérer semblent peu répandues, et les utilitaires gratuits et sympas pour les lire assez rares. DVdate fait partie de ceux-là.

     

    Il en est de même pour le timecode, information précisant la position d'une frame sur une cassette DV en heures-minutes-secondes-nombre de frames, et qui sont inscrites dans chaque frame par le camescope DV. Ces informations sont conservées lors du transfert sur un ordinateur, tant que le fichier n'est pas recompressé. DVdate sait alors le récupérer, ce qui paraît toujours un peu magique quand vous avez un bout de clip DV sur le disque dur et que ce gratuiciel vous affiche à quel endroit de la cassette il a été produit pour la première fois, alors même que cette cassette a peut-être déjà été effacée et réécrite!

     

    Une fonction tout à fait unique de DVdate est de pouvoir parcourir des fichiers avi DV et d'afficher en temps réel les datecode et timecode de l'image affichée. Je ne connais pas de programme, même professionnel, qui propose cela.

    Une autre, encore plus exceptionnelle, est de pouvoir inscruster ces données dans chaque frame video, de manière très puisssante. Si vous ne voulez pas les incruster de manière permanente, DVdate vous propose aussi de créer un petit fichier .srt de sous-titres contenant ces dates, qui peuvent être superposés sur la vidéo quand vous la lisez.

retour au haut de la pageanigray07_up.gif

  

 

 

 

 

pink05_next.gif Installer et lancer DVdate